Coming into the Light with lanterns, e-commerce & stuff

Hello world!

Hello and welcome to my new blog. Please take a moment to read the about us page and get to know me a little bit. As many of you will be able to tell, I am a newbie. So please bear with me and don’t be afraid to let me know when I have crossed a line. Let me tell you about the name of this blog “Into the Light.”

The tag line for our website is “Come out of the dark.” So the phrase “into the light” just seemed the natural choice for a blog that would talk about the website.

For this first blog I would like to tell you a little bit about why we decided to pursue an on-line business. If you read the about us page you know that my husband works for the US Postal service and we have 3 kids in college. The decision is really two-fold. If you know anyone that works at the post office you will understand when I say it is not a great place to work. I am sure there are some out there that are nice but I haven’t found any yet. So the first part of the decision was to create income so that John could leave the post office without having to worry about money.

The second reason is our girls. We want to be able to give them a helping hand as they start their own lives. Understand, we do NOT believe in giving hand outs. We have tried to teach our girls to be independent and self-sufficient. But it is really nice to go visit and take them shopping for the things that they cannot afford on a student salary. Not to mention our baby will be going to school 3000 miles away. I want to be able to bring her home occasionally, at least for the holidays.

So I lied, there is really three reasons. The last reason is kind of related to the second one. Our baby will be leaving soon. That will leave John and I by ourselves. Both John and I are veterans. As a matter of fact we met at the EM club while we were both serving in the Navy.  John was aircrew so he got to visit a lot of beautiful places in the world. I on the other hand stayed state side for my whole tour. There are many places that John would like to show me and I would love to see. If we have a successful on-line business we can travel all over the world and I can still ‘take care of business.’

So there you have it. That is why we chose to start an on-line business. Have a Blessed day.

Comments on: "Hello world!" (1)

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

